reviews


Northumberland Coastal Path

19th May 2022 Jo S

After walking Hadrians Wall last year straight after lockdown with Shepherds walks Holidays (in the rain), we were looking forward to a beautiful coastal walk with them again.

We set off from Cresswell on the most beautiful deserted beach (it could do with a official place for photos etc rather than a car park). The sun was shining and stayed that way all day.

Our walk to Amble for a coffee and then to Warkworth was fabulous.

Day 2 Warkworth to Craster - again in glorious sun we visited the beautiful Alnmouth. Craster suits its name and is famous for Kippers!!

Day 3 Craster to Seahouses - overcast today with the threat of rain which never came.

Day 4 Seahouses to Belford - a lovely walk along the beach to Bamburgh castle, a quick visit, then a walk inland around Bugle Bay to Belford.

Day 5 Belford to Linsdisfarne Inn - a short walk today, which is a shame as we didn't get the chance to get to Holy island due to the tides.

Day 6 Lindisfarne Inn to Berwick on Tweed - another beautiful walk ending in a complete soaking in Berwick for the last couple of miles.

We thoroughly enjoyed this walk.. the views were breathtaking and it made 'our hearts sing' - corny I know!!


Easy walking

18th May 2022 Claire S

Easy walking on well-marked paths, a couple of fallen trees in one section, but totally understandable after the recent storms. Thanks for providing such good weather!


Walking the Cumbria Way

26th Oct 2021 Susan S

It was helpful to leave a car at Mary’s Mount although parking on the road around there would have been safe too.

We liked Ulverston. It was full of restaurants and cafes which were all busy in the evening.

I would not like to do the walk without a GPS. In many places it isn’t well signed, or there are a multiplicity of paths and field gates.

We are both good walkers but found we were only walking at 2 mph rather than our usual 3 mph as we kept stopping to read the description in the book and check the track on my GPS. We had also assumed that most of the walk would be ok underfoot but we were taken aback by the tree roots alongside Coniston water, and the streams crossing our path at Langstrath.


Cumbra Way Highlights

27th Sep 2021 S

Wonderful three days with varied landscape and terrain, including clambering up bucolic fields of sheep to the high fells where we were alone with superb views. The accommodation exceeded our expectations and the company dealt with a small issue regarding taxi times very promptly.


Hadrian’s Wall

16th Jul 2021 Susanne H

I absolutely loved my 6 days Hadrian’s Wall walk organised by you, Shepherds Walk. The accommodation booked for me was very clean and friendly. My bag was transferred from accommodation to accommodation and I had nothing to worry about. I would like to thank all at Shepherds Walk for an outstanding, professional and friendly service provided x


Amazing skies and landscape

15th Jul 2021 Mary B

Sunday morning arrived after meeting fellow walkers on Saturday and off we went to Bowness on Solway not really knowing what to expect. The fairly long, but flat, first day was interesting and gave us all a chance to talk and get to know our fellow walkers on the way.
After a good night in Carlise day two made me realise we were actually near to the wall with all the information and history given to us by Patrick. Once we got to the actual stone section of the wall the next three days walking will live long in my memory. The sheer scale of the wall and the amazing skies and landscapes on either side where enhanced by lots of information about the forts, turrets, milecastles and the associated history. I think the clear blue skies certainly added to the whole experience and cannot imagine how it would be in the rain. As we left the standing wall behind us the walking became easier and scenic along the river but by the last day we were all feeling a sense of achievement on actually completed the journey across the country.


Amazing skies and landscape

15th Jul 2021 Mary B

Sunday morning arrived after meeting fellow walkers on Saturday and off we went to Bowness on Solway not really knowing what to expect. The fairly long, but flat, first day was interesting and gave us all a chance to talk and get to know our fellow walkers on the way.


After a good night in Carlise day two made me realise we were actually near to the wall with all the information and history given to us by Patrick. Once we got to the actual stone section of the wall the next three days walking will live long in my memory. The sheer scale of the wall and the amazing skies and landscapes on either side where enhanced by lots of information about the forts, turrets, milecastles and the associated history. I think the clear blue skies certainly added to the whole experience and cannot imagine how it would be in the rain. As we left the standing wall behind us the walking became easier and scenic along the river but by the last day we were all feeling a sense of achievement on actually completed the journey across the country.


Amazing Skies and Landscape

15th Jul 2021 Mary

Sunday morning arrived after meeting fellow walkers on Saturday and off we went to Bowness on Solway not really knowing what to expect. The fairly long, but flat, first day was interesting and gave us all a chance to talk and get to know our fellow walkers on the way.
After a good night in Carlise day two made me realise we were actually near to the wall with all the information and history given to us by Patrick. Once we got to the actual stone section of the wall the next three days walking will live long in my memory. The sheer scale of the wall and the amazing skies and landscapes on either side where enhanced by lots of information about the forts, turrets, milecastles and the associated history. I think the clear blue skies certainly added to the whole experience and cannot imagine how it would be in the rain. As we left the standing wall behind us the walking became easier and scenic along the river but by the last day we were all feeling a sense of achievement on actually completed the journey across the country.


St Oswald's Way

14th Jul 2021 Holloway

Shepherd's Holidays provided us with an interesting route to walk and set up the accommodation and transfers for us and our dog. All we had to do was to turn up and do the walking. Route finding was straightforward and the route was varied, taking us along coastal paths, through woodlands, along river valleys and over the moors. The information pack told us where there were refreshments available, and more importantly, where there were not. We were able to book our evening meals in advance and enjoyed a worry-free holiday. Our favourite stretch was coming over a hill at the end of the first day and seeing the sea, sand and Bamburgh Castle. Magic. 


St Cuthbert's Way - bespoke

28th Jun 2021 M C

The planning of this holiday was very smooth and clear. The hiking map was very useful and easy to follow. We particularly appreciated the daily sheets with photograph, map and essential details.  The Bespoke system responded to our requirements and meant we could walk St Cuthberts Way according to our fitness level and return to this lovely part of the country. 

The trip to Holy Island on a sparkling sea and accompanied by dolphins was a high point.

 


A perfect week's walking (aside from a blister or two)

17th Jun 2021 C

We have used Shepherds Walks for walking holidays a few times now and have enjoyed each of them immensely. Each holiday had its own highlights and we have always received an excellent service from Shepherds Walks. The Taste of Two Trails edged it for us as the standout, on account of the variety of stunning upland / coastal scenery, quality of accommodation, and the extra touches included such as the courier arrangements, extra night's stay at the end of the holiday, and transfers to and from the station. Luckily for us we had perfect walking weather: 20 degrees and incredible clear skies affording stunning views as we made our way from the Borders over to the coast. Thanks to Jackie and all the team at Shepherds Walks for working so hard to ensure everything went smoothly for us (especially with some Covid restrictions still in place) so that the only effort required on our part was to do the actual walking and enjoy a hearty meal with a pint or two at the end of the day. Although we did these trails in June, enjoying warm weather and wonderful light evenings, I would recommend it at any time. A final recommendation, time permitting, is to take a boat trip from Seahouses round the Farne islands to see the puffins and guillemots - a good excuse to rest your feet for a couple of hours after a day's walking as much as an opportunity to see the wildlife.


St Cuthberts Way

03rd Jun 2021 Kaye H

At 61 and coming from Essex there were moments when I wondered if I had been a tad reckless doing this. I had not done something like this on my own before. Yet I never felt unsafe and felt secure in the thorough and encouraging support of Shepherds Walks throughout. Would happily do another walk with them. They took care of me very well.


Hadrian's Wall 6 days

01st Jun 2021 A G

Just returned from a Hadrains wall six day walk and thoroughly enjoyed it !! Well organised and good accommodation. Bags were always at the b+b when we arrived and we were greated very warmly at the end of each day.

I must give Dennis our driver a thumbs up...nice guy.

I would definitely recommend it.


Beautiful Northumberland

13th Nov 2019 B

This was a nostalgic walk for my sister and I , now in our 70s . We were covering familiar ground from our childhood. Northumberland remains beautiful, still largely unspoilt with wonderful views of the Cheviots. Shepherds Walks Holidays adapted the walk for us so that we finished in Bamburgh, again for old times sake!


St Cuthbert's Walk - A Great Experience

11th Oct 2019 Elizabeth J

Not particularly a regular walker I still found the daily mileage very manageable. Holiday organisation very good likewise our leader Mark, knowledgeable and experienced. Good accommodation together with hot sunny weather in September made for a most enjoyable holiday. Would highly recommend Shepherds Walks.


Fantastic guide and weather was brilliant

29th Sep 2019 P P

I really can’t emphasise enough how good Mark, our guide, was - checking on slower people but always aware of challenges, ready with jelly babies etc to motivate us..


St. Oswald's way

25th Jul 2019 David B

Thanks Jon & Jackie for setting up a great holiday. Starting with an extra day at Lindisfarne, we took advantage of low tides during the day to walk the many beaches which are close to the trail. The choice of accommodation was excellent.


The St Cuthbert’s Way: a wonderful experience

04th Jul 2019 P

This was another excellent holiday with Shepherds Walks. We thoroughly enjoyed walking the St Cuthbert’s Way in June 2019 through a wide variety of landscapes in perfect weather. The highlight was walking across the sands, barefoot on the Pilgrim’s Trail to finish at Holy Island. The holiday was expertly organised. Jackie fulfilled our particular requirements for accommodation and it was good to meet Jon again for our briefing before the start of our walk. We would thoroughly recommend Shepherds Walks and look forward to booking another holiday with the team again.


Walking along history.

04th Jul 2019 Tina H

The holiday was brilliant all you have to do is walk, eat, relax and enjoy. One of my most memorable holidays.I would certainly use Shepherds Walks again.


04th Jul 2019 M

An excellent walk strenuous in places eg Keswick to Caldbeck. We really appreciated being able to split the Ulverston to Coniston section by staying at Lowick Bridge. All arrangements were very good with friendly comfortable accommodation,totally reliable baggage transfer, very informative pack at the start and a friendly taxi to get us back to the car from Carlisle to Ulverston. Thoroughly recommended.


What a lovely way to get to know Northumberland

04th Jul 2019 K

Thank you for making it so easy for us to just follow and enjoy the Coastal Path. What a lovely way to make a new country feel like home!


We felt very reassured after our initial meeting and knew that if we had any problems they’d be quickly sorted.

04th Jul 2019 F S

We’ve done similar holidays before, booking our own accommodation. It was really nice to leave organisation of the holiday to the experts.


Excellent walking holiday, all arrangements worked out very well.

03rd Jul 2019 M P

Very friendly and personal, excellent literature before the holiday, encouraging pre and post walk contacts; felt that if any help had been needed it would have been prompt and appropriate.


Hadrian's Wall

01st Jul 2019 G M

The packed lunches were amazing. Found that we were hanging around with excitement for them to arrive every morning, then diving into them as soon as we stopped for lunch.


One of the best holidays I have ever had.

30th Jun 2019 T H

Patrick, the guide was excellent, his knowledge of all things Hadrian made the walk 'come alive' the bonus being his flora, fauna, and wildlife knowledge which made the walk even more interesting.


a great coastal walk

29th Jun 2019 Andrew J

For lovers of coastal walks this is a must, whether it is your first walk with Shepherds or your next, this walk has all the attributes that coastal walkers love. The fine scenery, variety and first class accommodation backed by the excellent service I have come to expect from Shepherds made it a great choice.


We look forward to walking with you again.

28th Jun 2019 P &

Faultless organisation. We appreciated Jackie booking accommodation to meet our requirements and Jon's briefing.


Northumberland Coast path

22nd Jun 2019 K G

This walk really helped me feel at home in the North East! Thank you!!!


From the first to last day, excellent.

07th Jun 2019 A J


The variation is what makes this walk a must, coast, country lanes, woodland and lots of flora.


Hadrians Wall with 2 dogs

15th May 2019 D

My friend & I who are middle aged female health care professionals decided we wanted to walk the Wall with our 2 dogs. I know sorting accommodation suitable for the 4 of us was tricky but we all had a wonderful time. The scenery was amazing, the camaraderie from other walkers ( many of whom were considerably older than us) inspiring and it was a truly relaxing holiday. I am inspired to do more in the future. If I could change anything - it would be having more time to do some sightseeing - perhaps when I am retired and time is not an issue planning some non walking days would be a good idea?


Dales Way

01st May 2019 A D

Thanks for an excellent, well-organised holiday. Great time of year to do this walk; extremely beautiful and varied.


Fantastic Walk

30th Sep 2018 J

The package provided was very easy to follow and easily organized our day. The accommodation provided was excellent, providing a hearty breakfast each morning. The transfers at the beginning and the end of the walk makes the walk more enjoyable as this major concern is covered.We would highly recommend Shepherds Walks.


from dale to lake

15th Sep 2018 Andrew J

This walk is a must for those who like variety. Traverse the majestic wharf valley with its picturesque towns and villages, the serenity of the meandering Lune Valley with its bridges and mighty viaducts to the magnificence of Lake Windermere and the satisfaction of completing one of England's classic long distance walks.


Guided 3 Peaks

14th Sep 2018 V

This was a fantastic trip where everything was sorted for us so we had nothing to worry about. Would definitely book again!


A beautiful walk.

31st Aug 2018 A

This was our third holiday with Shepherds Walk. Outstanding company to book travel with-all the details are covered and explained. Cleveland Way was a senic and at times challenging walk. Places visited were delightful-small coastal villages to larger seaside resorts. Anyone who enjoys walking will love this hike.


A fine walk through the dales

26th Jul 2018 T

The Dalesway is a lovely, not too demanding walk. Signposting is usually pretty good. Shepherd’s Walks did a great job of working with us to arrange the walk we wanted and placed us in some great accommodations. We’ll be back!


A Glorious Walk

23rd Jul 2018 C

The Dales Way is an easy walk through glorious scenery. Some superb accommodation. Excellent organisation by Shepherds Walks meant everything went like clockwork. Thank you for a wonderful week!


St Cuthberts Way

16th Jul 2018 Geoff H

My wife Carol and I have just completed the St Cuthbert's Way with Shepherds Walks, we cannot put into words how wonderful the experience was. The accommodations along the way were top class with the added personal touch from the proprietors of the B and Bs and hotels.Most importantly the personal touch from Jon and his team from Shepherds Walks is marvellous and something that is missing from modern day Tour companies.A simply fantastic experience, with a reassuring personal touch, thank you Shepherds Walks


The best holiday ever?

20th May 2018 S

What a wonderful 5 night trip we had walking St Oswald's Way starting from Lindsifarne. In terms of bang for your back it doesn't get better than this. The scenery, the beaches that stretch for miles and the wildlife were all amazing.There was surprisingly little uphill walking to do which is unusual for a coastal walk. each hotel/inn was great and the luggage collection and drop off worked like a dream. The maps, route and navigation were all easy to understand.Thanks so much to Jon and the team. It's our second holiday with you and I'm already planning a third.


From Berwick to Dunbar

11th Apr 2018 a

I am a great fan of coastal walks and of Shepherds. The variety this walk provided will be a lasting memory. The organisation, accommodation and support were excellent, all I have come to expect. This was my second Shepherds walk another is planned for July. I believe it is not what it costs its what you get for your money.


Fantastic 5 days walking across some of the best countryside and views the UK has to offer

04th Apr 2018 J

Such an enjoyable walk with some brilliant highlights:•Walking away from Ulverston for at least the first 6 miles and when looking back, still being able to see Sir John Barrow Monument overlooking Morecambe Bay as well as being surrounded in every field by newly born lambs•The walk from Coniston to Skelwith Bridge. Tarn Hows was amazingly still and picturesque and fortunate for us quiet and we set of early•Scrambling up Grainsgill Beck to Lingy hut. This was one of the most challenging parts of the walk but a change from regular tracks•Last day meander along the River Caldew towards Dalston. Once again we were surrounded by lambs and the occasional protective parent!


Hadrian's Wall-Self Guided : 7 days, October 2017

26th Nov 2017 A

An extremely well organised holiday benefiting from the experienced Shepherds Walks staff. The history and geology of the area are fascinating . We had a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable walk with a real sense of achievement on completion. Thank you.


St Cuthbert's Way Guided Walk

30th Sep 2017 E

This was a thoroughly enjoyable walk talking in some stunning countryside with spectacular views. Each day brought something new to see and learn about. Our guide was well informed and able to give a pen picture of the area we were passing through. Days were well organized ending with good accommodations at the end of each day. Would highly recommend taking up the challenge.


St Cuthberts Way - guided walk in September 2017

28th Sep 2017 Karen S

Really enjoyed this guided walk. Scenery was superb and walked with a very interesting group of people.


St. Cuthbert's Way Guided Walk

28th Sep 2017 P

We had a wonderful time. Our guide was personable and took good care of our group, and everything ran like clockwork. I highly recommend Shepherd's Walks and this particular guided hike.


Great trek

21st Sep 2017 K

Beautiful countryside walk over crags with interesting ruins and first class museums along the way. Shepherds Walks' support services were outstanding - maps, trail guides, accommodation arrangements, baggage transfers, and transports were of high quality and reliable.


Guided Walk Hadrians Wall

15th Sep 2017 J

In addition to my feedback I had a great trip, l travelled all the way from Whangamata , New Zealand, and l would gladly do it again tomorrow . Cheers.


Hadrians Wall Guided Walk

31st Aug 2017 J

Well organised, enjoyable walk. Accommodation is very good and the packed lunches excellent. Patrick is an ideal guide, friendly, knowledgeable, answering questions and sharing information in relation to the history, archaeology, scenery and the natural world.. Especially enjoyed the central section with its wonderful scenery.


Great Holiday

11th Aug 2017 A

Thank you for a really enjoyable walking holiday. All went very smoothly, and the accommodation ranged from very good to excellent. The borders region is a unique part of Britain and long may it remain so. It felt a bit like a pilgrimage - St Cuthbert was never very far away - and it was very satisfying to reach Lindisfarne Priory in its peaceful setting. I am sure we will be back with Shepherds Walks again before too long.


St. Cuthberts Way

31st Jul 2017 D

This is an excellent walk. Each mile is varied, each day is different. Melrose, Dryburgh and Jedburgh Abbeys enhance the walk. Lindisfarne is a wonderful and rich ending to the walk, and well worth an extra night before returning home. Thanks to Shepherds walks which made it easy.


Fantastic Holiday

29th Jul 2017 S

After a hearty breakfast, Jon collected us to start us off at Cresswell...scary that we were solo. It was a very wet soggy start. Weather did improve though and we had a couple of bright days as we made our way up the coast. Beautiful scenery , unspoilt beaches and saw much more on foot than by car. B& Bs were all fabulous apart from a little dull and dingy at Beal the last stay. Made the best of it though. Food along our trip was second to none and a very warm welcome at B& Bs. Walk was well planned, although we did find the book that I brought The Northumberland Coast Path Official Guide invaluable as it had written route instructions, we did refer to Shepherds Walk map too. Bag drops were perfect. Recommended places in our pack were all good. Advice to book was helpful and good to know as I did book ahead in a couple of places. Well done to all the team at Shepherds Walk, very well planned apart from " forgetting to collect us at the station on arrival at Almouth. Soon sorted very swiftly. Thank you againWe are sure to walk with you again.Xx


Beautiful coastline and great walking

25th Jul 2017 M S

Meet and Greet by Jon is a valued part of service, personal touch and  Jackie is organised, provides information, and great communication.


We particularly enjoyed staying at the B&Bs, which had very friendly and helpful owners.

20th Jul 2017 S C

We stayed an extra night in Berwick, which was very enjoyable. You offer this as an option, but we would suggest this be strongly recommended. Finally, many thanks for a wonderful holiday; we will definitely use Shepherd Walks in the future.

 
 


Really enjoyed exploring a part of the UK that is largely unfamiliar to us.

18th Jul 2017 C M

Really good! Received all the information re route, accommodation and services along the way in good time. All the pick-ups happened exactly as arranged and Peter was waiting for us at Heavenfield, so no worries there. Jon gave us thorough info re the walk and how to use the gps.


The Dales Way is mostly gentle walking, alongside often pretty stretches of river.

15th Jul 2017 D W

Thank you very much for putting together a lovely holiday.


Great holiday

11th Jul 2017 E

I had a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed walking the Wall. This was my first walking holiday - I wanted to see all the remains of the Wall and more of the countryside of the north-east, an area I have always loved. I feel I have the confidence now to do a self-guided walk.


Hadrian's Wall Highlights - Self Guided

04th Jul 2017 R

Just returned from a brilliant holiday. Organisation was first class. Briefings, pickups, bag transfer went like a dream. Accommodation and food excellent with hosts going that extra mile by giving us lifts to pubs and start points. Use of a gps was an added bonus too. Scenery was stunning and information and visitor centres en route added to the experience. Can totally recommend this holiday but be prepared for those hills (however the views are worth all the effort). Thank you Shepherds Walks.


Great walk

02nd Jul 2017 T

First time on this sort of hoiliday & exceeded all expectations. Enjoyed the variety of terrain; well waymarked; some long days but well warned about that. Comparing notes with other walkers, we seemed to be getting best service. Many thanks Shepherds Walks Holidays


Great walk

02nd Jul 2017 T

First time on this sort of hoiliday & exceeded all expectations. Enjoyed the variety of terrain; well waymarked; some long days but well warned about that. Comparing notes with other walkers, we seemed to be getting best service. Many thanks Shepherds Walks Holidays


Excellent Guide, good group to walk with,lucky with amazing weather

02nd Jul 2017 W M

Patrick went out of his way to accommodate all levels of walkers, with an ease that did not make anyone feel they were holding the group back but with a total understanding that we're all different and that's ok! As he said it was our holiday and we could stop and stare - and we did!


Varied walk

10th Feb 2017 S

We did this walk last year and very much liked the varied countryside it passed through. After a few days down the Northumberland coast we headed inland and then over the top of the Simonside Hills, a highlight to the holiday. Heavenfield was the end of a great walking holiday.I must commend Shepherds Walks holidays on some exceptional customer service, it is so nice to meet real people who know and understand the trail you are going to walk.This year we are heading off along the Dales Way with Shepherds Walks holidays!


The hidden gem in UK

10th Feb 2017 E

A great section of the coastline, we have never seen anything like it. Empty sweeping beaches and castles. What else could anybody ask for.


The hidden gem in UK

10th Feb 2017 E

A great section of the coastline, we have never seen anything like it. Empty sweeping beaches and castles. What else could anybody ask for.


Great walk

06th Dec 2016 A

We did this walk early 2016 and really enjoyed it. The route varies so much and you pass through a wonderful part of the country.


Great walk

06th Dec 2016 A

We did this walk early 2016 and really enjoyed it. The route varies so much and you pass through a wonderful part of the country.


A very big thank you

06th Dec 2016 J

A very big thank you for making a great holiday. Being met on our first evening was a real bonus, something we had never experienced on a walking holiday before. it was great for Jon to go through everything with us in person. Top class!


Great holiday, Thanks

31st Oct 2016 I

Did this guided trip with Shepherds Walks Holidays in 2016 - Lovely group of people and excellent guide. He was funny, knowledgeable and took great care to look after everyone on a personal basis. Great leader qualities!


Great holiday, thanks

31st Oct 2016 H

Thank you for all your attention, and organising a great walking holiday for us - the first of many hopefully


Great holiday, thanks

31st Oct 2016 H

Thank you for all your attention, and organising a great walking holiday for us - the first of many hopefully


Great trail

27th Oct 2016 P

We walked this trail last year and loved every moment of it. You pass through some very different countryside. Really like the middle few days with great views of the Three Peaks, a truly special part of the Dales. The surprise was how nice the section to the West of the M6 is as you head to Bowness on Windermere, not an area we have walked in before but a great end to the holiday.


Great trail

23rd Oct 2016 S

We walked the Dales way last year, the first long distance trail we have walked and loved every minute of it. A great walk through some very different landscapes.


St Cuthbert's Way - loved it

30th Sep 2016 S

Really enjoyed the variety of scenery. It was the first long distance walk that we had done and it fitted the bill perfectly.


Great holiday

01st Sep 2016 D

Just a few lines to say how much I enjoyed the Hadrian’s Wall walk, Patrick and Andrea where excellent in all aspects of guiding and imparting knowledge of the wall. The food including the packed lunches was second to none, the accommodation was very good. I needed a pint at the end of each day. Thank you very, very much.


Great holiday

01st Sep 2016 Dan S

Just a few lines to say how much I enjoyed the Hadrian’s Wall walk, Patrick and Andrea where excellent in all aspects of guiding and imparting knowledge of the wall. The food including the packed lunches was second to none, the accommodation was very good. I needed a pint at the end of each day. Thank you very, very much.


Great holiday

11th Jul 2016 Edward S

I had a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed walking the Wall. This was my first walking holiday - I wanted to see all the remains of the Wall and more of the countryside of the north-east, an area I have always loved. I feel I have the confidence now to do a self-guided walk.


Great guides and superb walk

11th Jul 2016 S

I enjoyed Paul and Patrick's company very much. Thank you to Paul in particular for pointing out so many things on the route - I would not have got so much out of it if I had been doing a self-guided walk. Also thank you to Patrick for pointing out so much of the natural history.


Some real highlights

11th Jul 2016 S

The highlight of the holiday was our trip to the Farne Islands. Gobsmacked to see so many birds, so close - arctic tern perching on my head. Perhaps you should make this more of a feature of your itinerary at the right times of year.


Great guides and superb walk

11th Jul 2016 Stephen M

I enjoyed Paul and Patrick's company very much. Thank you to Paul in particular for pointing out so many things on the route - I would not have got so much out of it if I had been doing a self-guided walk. Also thank you to Patrick for pointing out so much of the natural history.


What great lunches!

15th Jun 2016 C.C.

Lunches provided were A. Great variety and more than enough goodies which provided us with snacks throughout our entire trip! The caterer was at our lunch stop every day waiting for us.


What great lunches!

15th Jun 2016 C.C.

Lunches provided were A+++. Great variety and more than enough goodies which provided us with snacks throughout our entire trip! The caterer was at our lunch stop every day waiting for us.


Congratulations

15th Jun 2016 Cathrine C

Congratulations to Jon, Jackie, Paul and everybody at Shepherds Walks for a well run business that provides QUALITY walking experiences. Great memories of a fabulous vacation! Many Thanks!


Great walk, thanks

19th Apr 2016 S

We did this walk with Shepherds Walks last year and really enjoyed. Paul was a great guide and his with and knowledge kept us going for the full length of the trip. Thanks very much looking forward to walking with you again.


Great walk, thanks

19th Apr 2016 S

We did this walk with Shepherds Walks last year and really enjoyed. Paul was a great guide and his with and knowledge kept us going for the full length of the trip. Thanks very much looking forward to walking with you again.


St. Cuthberts Way is a delightful walk

11th Apr 2016 E

The St. Cuthberts Way is a delightful walk incorporating the Border Regions great variety of landscapes.

We set off from the beautiful town of Melrose having been transported by the Shepherds team to the start of the walk. In good weather and on dry paths we made our way across the lovely Scottish countryside to our excellent overnight accommodation.

This pattern was continued over six nights to our destination at Lindisfarne. We thoroughly enjoyed our well organised holiday and appreciated being looked after by the Shepherds Team.

We recommend this holiday, we had so much enjoyment walking in the countryside during the day and pleasant evenings at the accommodation.

Thanks to you all, Elaine, Harry & Basil (the dog).

 


Outstanding job

21st Feb 2016 K

I wanted to add my thanks for a truly outstanding job in coordinating our trek through northern England on the Hadrian's Wall Trail. Considering all the bits a pieces that had to be accounted for, everything went remarkably smoothly. Even the weather cooperated - for which you may take credit as well.


We walked this route last year

27th Jan 2016 K

We walked this section of the coast last year and added it onto our walk up the Northumberland Coastal Path (just added 3 days on).It is a stunning section of the coast but be warned there area few climbs, but very much worth it.We did not see another person along the route which made a good holiday great.


Looking forward to the holiday

22nd Jan 2016 Peter G

Just booked on this trip for this year. If the walk is half as good as the service I have received so far it is going to be a corker, we just need some good weather please!


Looking forward to the holiday

22nd Jan 2016 Peter G

Just booked on this trip for this year. If the walk is half as good as the service I have received so far it is going to be a corker, we just need some good weather please!


Looking forward to the holiday

22nd Jan 2016 Peter G

Just booked on this trip for this year. If the walk is half as good as the service I have received so far it is going to be a corker, we just need some good weather please!


Very memorable walking holiday

07th Jan 2016 Brian C

Thanks so much for a very memorable walking holiday along the Hadrian's Wall Trail.


Thanks for a great walk along Hadrian's Wall

02nd Dec 2015 Brian C

Thanks so much for a very memorable walking holiday along the Hadrian's Wall Trail.


Everything worked like clockwork

01st Dec 2015 H I

Thanks for arranging a great walking holiday for us along the Hadrian's wall trail this year, everything worked like clockwork.


Great walk

01st Dec 2015 Henry H

We had a great walk along the coast earlier this year, thanks for sorting this for us.


Hadrian's Wall guided trip

25th Nov 2015 Simon B

Paul our guide was very knowledgeable , helpful and good company.


Hadrians Wall guided trip

25th Nov 2015 Simon B

Paul our guide was very knowledgeable , helpful and good company.


Great walk and brought the dog

17th Nov 2015 Kathy Y

Thanks for planning our walk along the Northumberland Coastal Path for all thre of us (including the dog).

We had a great time and it all worked like clockwork.


Everything worked like clockwork

11th Nov 2015 H I

Thanks for a  great holiday, everything worked like clockwork.


Thanks for a great holiday

11th Nov 2015 Margaret K

A very big thank you for all the team for a great walking holiday on Hadrian's Wall, we have walked with many walking companies over the years and I have to admit the service we received from you guys rates you at the top.

We really liked meeting you at the start of our first days walking and all the extra info you gave us so we then knew not only what to expect each day but also where to eat and buy snacks from. We did appreciate how much work must have gone into this.

We looking forward to joining you agin next year on St Cuthbert's Way.


Great Service

22nd Oct 2015 Helen C

Performance of company was excellent!


I wanted to add my thanks for a truly outstanding job

21st Oct 2015 Karl K

I wanted to add my thanks for a truly outstanding job in coordinating our trek through northern England on the Hadrian’s Wall Trail.  Considering all the bits a pieces that had to be accounted for, everything went remarkably smoothly.  Even the weather cooperated for which you may take credit as well.


Demanding Walk, but worth it

06th Oct 2015 Lesley D

We completed this 5 day Hadrian's Wall walk (4 days walking) with Shepherds Walks earlier this year.

Great walk and well organised but we did find it demanding at times doing the walk over so few days.

Lovely countryside and good walk.


Great Holiday

05th Oct 2015 Melanie G

I came on this trip last year and it was great. Richard was very informative and it was great to complete the Yorkshire dales Three peaks as it is something that has been on my wish list.

Great company and I have since walked with with one of the ladies who i met on this holiday.

Thanks Shepherds Walks Holidays!


Great Holiday

05th Oct 2015 Melanie G

I came on this trip last year and it was great. Richard was very informative and it was great to complete the Yorkshire dales Three peaks as it is something that has been on my wish list.

Great company and I have since walked with with one of the ladies who i met on this holiday.

Thanks Shepherds Walks Holidays!


Great walk along Hadrian's Wall

01st Oct 2015 Brian T

I thank you for a very well organised walk with an exellent guide. I really enjoyed it. As I was told a good mix of very friendly people.


Great walk along Hadrians Wall

01st Oct 2015 Brian T

I thank you for a very well organised walk with an exellent guide. I really enjoyed it. As I was told a good mix of very friendly people.


We would recommend Shepherds Walks Holidays

25th Sep 2015 S M

We are trying to interest some friends in a walking holiday in the UK. Of course, we will be recommending Shepherds Walk Holidays as we had such a great walking holiday on St Cuthbert's Way.


Great walk - St Cuthberts way

16th Sep 2015 Julia B

Thanks for a great walking holiday along St Cuthbert's Way, a great route and really good company.


Great Walk - St Cuthberts Way

16th Sep 2015 Julia B

 

Thanks for a great walking holiday along St Cuthbert's Way, a great route and really good company.


"Open your eyes and you will be wondered!"

16th Sep 2015 Kris M

This was the first HOLIDAY of my life (48years young)!  

So I visited the UK, an unknown country to me. I was ashtonished with the gorgeous panoramic views, in Latin: "Magna sunt opera Domine" (Lord how great are your works),  the nice people who gave us a warm welcome at the B&B's & others we met there. I also appreciated the silence during the walk through this historical area, the peacefull atmosphere during the daily distances. I enjoyed the sheep. (a local said: " They look different but they all taste the same"), the bulls, the thistles, the sun and the wuthering heights.

For me it was the perfect combination: a sporty holiday with atypical  English weather: during our trip we had no rain ... The distance of the daily trips was perfect, with plenty of accommodations for a good lunch! 

We also visited historical places: Vindolanda, the Roman Army Museum with a very good 3D movie!  The great Noble Prize Winner in exact science Einstein once said: "Open your eyes and you will be wondered!"  I  was wondered with the view, the hospitality, the perfect organsation. Unforgettable, thanks!!!


Thanks so much for a very memorable family holiday

09th Sep 2015 Catherine C

We walked the Hadrian's Wall Trail with you earlier this year.

Really like the personal touch, especially the transfer to the start as it gave us plenty of times to ask all the questions we had.

We loved our Shepherds Walks Holiday on Hadrian's Wall.

 


The holiday exceeded our expectations.

09th Sep 2015 Stephen T

We chose the Shepherd’s Walks for our Hadrians Wall Path 7 day self guided holiday because they are locally based. We were not disappointed and the holiday exceeded our expectations. All the staff at Shepherds walks provide a very friendly and personal service. We particularly appreciated being met by Jon Monks so that we had the opportunity to chat to him about the holiday ahead as we were driven to Bowness-on-Solway. This historic walk passes through some beautiful scenery with extensive views. In our opinion it is best walked west to east because of the prevailing wind. Accommodation, luggage transfer, route notes and itinerary were all excellent. And we didn’t need our waterproofs! It was a nice touch to be rewarded with a completion certificate and badge when we had finished the walk. We highly recommend Shepherds Walks Holidays


A great experience

07th Sep 2015 Jack N

We must ciommend Shepherds Walks Holidays for helping to make a great walk along the Hadrian's wall trail.

From the day we first enquired about the holiday to the day we caught the train home the service we received was well above anything else we have ever received.

Thanks to all the team, it is appreciated.


Great holiday, thanks very much

07th Sep 2015 Karen J

Thanks for all your extra work in planning our walking holiday along St Oswald's Way.

We had a great time and you even aranged some good weather! It was great to meet Jon at the start of our holiday and the info he gave us made our holiday.

Thanks and we look forward to walking with you again.


Lovely walk with great weather

01st Sep 2015 Simon H

We walked Hadrian's Wall last year on one of your guided jobs.

We really enjoyed it from start to finish and we made some good friends on our trip.

Thank you Shepherds walks Holidays.


Lovely walk with great weather

01st Sep 2015 Simon H

 

We walked Hadrian's Wall last year on one of your guided jobs.

We really enjoyed it from start to finish and we made some good friends on our trip.

Thank you Shepherds walks Holidays.


Lovely short break

11th Aug 2015 Simon G

A stunning stretch of coastline and hada  great few days away.

It is an area we had seen lots on the TV so raelly glad to see it for ourselves.


Support from Shepherds Walks was excellent.

08th Aug 2015 David a

'St Oswald's Way provides an interesting variety: coast path, riverside walking, a short stretch of moorland and even tidal mudflats on the first day. Most walks are very picturesque and not particularly demanding. We liked the fact that the distances are not too great so we had plenty of time to visit local sites along the way such as the wonderful castles. We took a boat trip to the Farne Islands to see seals, puffins and other seabirds. St Oswald's Way finishes at Heavenfield on Hadrian's Wall and we added on a couple of extra days walking by the Wall and visiting Roman forts. 

All in all we had a lovely holiday and the organisation and support from Shepherds Walks was excellent.

 


Hearty Northumbrian breakfasts without too much guilt.

24th Jul 2015 Caroline M

"The four of us had a great holiday walking the Northumberland Coast Path in July 2015. Everything ran smoothly from the pick up at Alnmouth Station  to our last leisurely day in Berwick before catching the train home.  Our various hosts were very welcoming and the walking allowed us to tuck into hearty Northumbrian breakfasts without too much guilt.  Even the weather co-operated with mainly blue skies all week and near perfect walking conditions.  Despite the fine weather the beaches were virtually deserted and my abiding memory is of striding across firm golden sand under vast skies.  (Pictures to follow) We also enjoyed seeing the castles and my personal highlight was walking the pilgrim's route across to Holy Island with Lindisfarne Castle looming in the distance.  I hope to revisit to tackle Saint Cuthbert's Way  next time"


Wonderful time

22nd Jul 2015 Rebecca S

Shepherds Walks provides outstanding personalized service and solid value for those seeking walking vacations. I highly recommend booking walking trips through this great little company. My daughter and I walked St. Oswald's Way in the summer of 2015. Jon Monks helped us out of a couple of binds -- each time with humor and graciousness. We made use of GPS units he loaned us and programmed for the route -- a real life saver for directionally challenged people like us. The accommodations booked for us were uniformly excellent. We hope to arrange our next walking vacation through Jon and his great team. I recommend Shepherds Walks without hesitation. A wonderful find!


Beautiful countryside and stunning sea views

16th Jul 2015 John a

The Northumberland Coastal Path is a lovely and easy walk, with no great hills to climb, but with beautiful countryside and stunning sea views. The accommodation was very good with friendly hosts, and was mostly very close to the trail. Walking across the East Coast Main Line was exciting, but using the yellow telephone to contact the signaller made it perfectly safe. We had one wet day, but our hosts dealt very efficiently with our wet clothes. All in all, a very enjoyable week.


Great guide and holiday

15th Jul 2015 Graham M

A big thank you to Chris for guiding us along St Cuthbert's Way.

It made for a great walk along this stunning long distnace trail.

 


It gives you peace

05th Jul 2015 Birgitta T

Doing the Hadrians Walk was a fantastic experience. When I look back I think of the lovely hilly landscape for miles around, silence and tranquillity, birds singing and the summerflowers on the fields. It gives you peace.


Great holiday - thanks

27th May 2015 Graham R

Thaks for aranging a great walking holiday along St Cuthbert's Trail.

A great walk and so well organised.


Wonderful holiday - St Cuthberts Way

18th May 2015 Don a

Diane and I completed our walking holiday of St. Cuthberts Way in May, 2015. Thank you for a wonderful experience. We enjoyed the change of scenery each day; the beauty of Melrose Abbey, the quant villages along the way, the remoteness of the Cheviots, and the walk to Lindisfarne while the tide was out. Each day of the walk was different.

The accommodations provided by Shepherds Walk were outstanding. Each hotel and bed and breakfast we stayed at was unique and comfortable. The proprietors of each establishment were all very friendly and totally put us at ease.

Tanks again for putting together a wonderful holiday for us, this time on St Cuthbert’s Way.


mailing list

Sign up to our mailing list to receive special offers, news, updates all directly to your inbox:

Latest News

What is the best Long Distance Walking Trail in the UK? Apr 2022


Taking in both National Trails and non-National Trails, we have compiled the list to answer the question, what is the best long-distance trail in the UK? more...